Losing a Loved One

Cremation Services in Grand Blanc, MI

Cremation services in Grand Blanc, MI, affect everyone in their own unique way, depending on their relationship with the lost loved one and their nature. Knowing about the different types of grief can help you provide support to a grieving individual needs.

Here’s an overview of common types of grief you should know about:

1. Normal Grief

Probably the most obvious type of grief that accompanies trauma, such as death or other loss. This is what most people refer to when they talk about “grieving” or “mourning.” It starts soon after the loss and can occur in five stages, namely: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Don’t be fooled by the term “normal,” however. The grief journey is not standard, and you may feel different emotions. Or you may feel them in a different order than the typical grieving person.

2. Complicated Grief

If the emotions of losing a loved one worsen over time, it is referred to as complicated grief. The person starts experiencing normal grief, but as time passes, it deepens and stagnates, and painful feelings of grief do not alleviate over time.

This type of grief is a mental health condition that can cause physical problems along with worsening depression. Often, the grieving person needs to contact professional grief counseling to get past the complicated grief.

3. Traumatic Grief

Just as the name indicates, this type of grief occurs after the sudden or unexpected loss of a loved one. The bereaved person is coping with two burdens: the traumatic death of a loved one and the grief that goes along with it.

Sometimes, people who have experienced a traumatic loss may develop PTSD-like symptoms. It can last for weeks, months, and even years. Feeling guilty about losing a loved one or after experiencing a traumatic event is common. But remember that the tragedy is not your fault and is beyond your control.

4. Chronic Grief

Chronic Grief is grief that does not subside over time rather the person keeps on suffering and experiencing deep distress for a long time. If left untreated, chronic grief can develop into serious problems. Some common symptoms of this grief include hopelessness, depression, anxiety, self-harm, and suicidal thoughts.

5. Anticipatory GriefCremation Services in Grand Blanc, MI

Anticipatory Grief is experiencing painful emotions even before the loved one has passed. Perhaps you have just received a terminal diagnosis for your spouse, parent, or child, and you know there’s no hope left.

Putting it differently, you are grieving the impending loss.

6. Prolonged Grief

If the grief lasts for 12 months or longer, it can be termed prolonged grief. Generally, it starts as “typical” grief but never gets better. The person finds it difficult to get out of the overwhelming emotions of longing for and preoccupation with the deceased loved one.

Also, they tend to gravitate toward things that remind them of the lost loved one. If you or your friend is suffering from prolonged grief, remember that it is a painful truth of life and you need to move on and return to normalcy after cremation services in Grand Blanc, MI.

Related Posts

In today’s evolving world, the journey of commemorating loved ones has transformed,…

In times of uncertainty and emotional turmoil, the value of preparedness cannot…

In our lives, farewell moments are as significant as those of greetings.…

During our journey of grief and remembrance, finding physical reminders to keep…